Adventure Bike Racing presents:
Race around the Netherlands


Race around the Netherlands is a fully self-supported bike packing race.

The RatN is a do-it-yourself challenge.

You are your own ride organizer.

Understand that this is a personal challenge against the clock. Not against others!

It is 1630k in distance with 5000m of elevation.

The RatN has two categories - solo and pair.

Start location:
De Proloog Cafe
Allemanswaard 27
3958 KA Amerongen

Start time and date:
Start: May 1st, 2019 at 0800 local time.
Finish: May 8th, 2019 at 1800 local time.


1. Riders must complete the full course from start to finish under their own power.

2. Riders must be fully self-supported.

3. No Drafting at any time.
(pair riders may draft each other)

4. Riders must follow the Dutch laws at any time.

5. Riders are required to use a provided GPS device.

6. No prize money.


-> Please download the gpx file of the route here! <-

(Safari Users please right cklick and save as)

The start and finish is in the village of Amerongen, located at the Utrechtse Heuvelrug at the famous cycling cafe De Proloog. The route takes us first along the rivers Neder-Rijn and the Waal to the historic cities of Nijmegen and Arnhem (known from the film “A Bridge Too Far” about the Operation Market Garden). Next you leave the beautiful river landscape and the historic cities behind and the route takes you through the National Park Veluwezoom. The National Park is known for its endless heath fields, imposing country estates and of course one of the most famous hills in the Netherlands, the Posbank.

You will pass through the heart of Enschede and along the Dolmens in the province of Drenthe, prehistoric burial chambers where the cycle route passes by. After which the route leads you through the city of Groningen.

The wind starts to get stronger and you get closer to one of the icons of the Dutch flood defense, the Afsluitdijk. A dam that closes off the Waddenzee from the IJsselmeer which is 32 kilometers long.

The route takes you south along the Dutch coast. Beautiful beaches and dunes with little to no buildings, towards the port of Rotterdam, the largest port in Europe. First you will cycle through the city of Rotterdam and across the Erasmus bridge towards the Maasvlakte.

The route takes you further south over the Delta Park Neeltje Jans, which is part of the Dutch flood defense, in the direction of Vlissingen. A historic city due to its strategic location. In the Eighty Years' War between the Netherlands and Spain, the city was in Spanish hands for a while.

You cycle along the Belgian border towards the hills in the province of Limburg. Where you hit one of the iconic Dutch hills, the Keutenberg with a maximum gradient of 16%.

If you have conquered the hills you cycle back through the beautiful river landscape of the Maas towards Nijmegen. Via the southern side of the rivers over the dikes you will finish at the cafe De Proloog.

Raum für den Inhalt des neuen div-Tags

(you may swipe)

  • 01r
  • 02r
  • 03r
  • 04r
  • 05r
  • 06r
  • 07r
  • 08r
  • 09r
  • 10r
  • 11r
  • 12r
  • 13r
  • 14r
  • 15r
  • 16r
  • 17r
  • 18r
  • 19r
  • 20r
  • 21r
  • javascript image slider
  • 23r
css slider by v8.8m

Register 2019
Late Registration in March!

-> Please download the race manual here first! <-

When and How much is the Registration?

Early Bird Registration!

Early Bird Registration opens September, 1st 2018 and closes September, 16th 2018

Fee for Early Bird Registration Solo category is 165 Euro.

Fee for Early Bird Registration Pair category is 145 Euro.

For the pair category both riders have to register and pay. Please tell us your riding partner.

Payment until September, 17th 2018

Late Registration if not sold out!

Late Registration opens March, 9th 2019 and closes March 24th 2019

Fee for Late Registration Solo category is 185 Euro.

Fee for Late Registration Pair category is 165 Euro.

For the pair category both riders have to register and pay. Please tell us your riding partner.

Payment until March, 25th 2019

Limited rider field of 90! First come - first served!

What you get for the fee:

The Route in form of a gpx file

Tracking device for the duration of the event

Official race cap

Place to sleep at the start:
Majoorsweg 15, 3958 GW Amerongen, Netherlands

Pasta dinner after sign up the day before the event starts!

Welcome at the finishline in de Proloog cafe:
Shower, the option to sleep it off if you finish at night time

Pictures we make during the event (can`t guarantee we have yours but we will try)

Publishing individual times on our website.

Refund policy:
65,-Euro refund until April, 15th 2019
After April 15th 2019 no refund!

Riders 2019

Andy Lawrence
Albert Ranera Martin
Andras Regoes
Andrej Vavro
Andrew Osborne
Anton Teunissen
Ashley Sharp
Aukje Kuipers
Bart De Keyser
Bart Verheijen
Bas Scherpenisse
Bas Vlaskamp
Berry van den Brink
Catriona Margaret Archer
Christian Timmer
Colin James
Dan Dimitriu
Daniel Murarik
David Chapman
Detlev Rabe
Eddie Kouiss
Edgar Bos
Ella Wredenfors
Eric Kampherbeek
Erik Venneman
Gafyn Meredith
Gawaine Clark
George Bennett
Herold Hissink
Holger Loosen
Igor Talevski
Jack Peterson
Jan-Dick den Das
Jasmijn Muller
Johan Kooistra
Julia Freeman
Kilian Wagner
Kris Willaert
Lee Paton
Marije Dirkx
Mark Charles
Mark Humme
Martens Dirk
Mieke Sweekhorst
Niko Wojtynia
Olaf Rittgeroth
Onno Zuidema
Pablo Wünsch Blanco
Patrick Bruns
Paul Cornelisse
Paul Mellon
Phill Cloke
Ralph Cullen
Richard Hunt
Rob Webb
Robert John Bullyment
Robert Mensing
Sebastiaan Ploos van Amstel
Sebastian Bönner
Shawn Duffy
Stefan Anastasiei
Stephen Haines
Susanne van Aardenne
Thom Rutten
Tom Hudders
Tom Williams
Toon Timmers
Ward Philip O’Hara
Wendy van Lubek
Willem Pals
William Luke Windsor
Wybren Buijs
Yves Conen
Yves Smits


Adam Kramer
Nathan Streunding

Andrew Slavin
Matt Walker

Chris Greenan
Neil Crawford

Filippo Di Battista
Matteo Minola-Violino

Jamie Robison
Kevin Robison

Jan-Willem Janssen
René Rutten

Jamie McLeod
Kay Hope

Marc Alinski
Maren Barkowsky

Kate Berry
Richard Skidmore

Darush Pourreza Dehkordi
Saul Kelf

Josef Sällqvist
Terry de Jong

>>more Details about the riders here! <<



Facebook group

  • JorisCosyn
  • joriscosyn2
  • tjerk-bakker
  • colin-james
  • alain-giorsio-raboen
  • alain-raboen
  • giorsio-raboen
  • jason-schreurs
  • erik-wallinga
  • adam-verhaar
  • james-holmes
  • jamie-robison
  • onno-zuidema
  • dean-strike
  • erik-venneman
  • rutger
  • luke-william-windsor
  • mw-cap
  • html5 slideshow
  • ralph-cullen

Results 2018

Joris Cosyn, Belgium // 4D // 6H // 11M

Tjerk Bakker, Netherlands // 4D // 10H // 45M

Colin James, United Kingdom // 4D // 11H // 12M

Jason Schreurs, Netherlands // 4D //13H // 28M

Erik Wallinga, Netherlands // 4D // 14H // 35M

Adam Verhaar, Netherlands // 5D // 8H // 28M

James Holmes, Netherlands // 5D // 13H // 2M

Jamie Robison, United Kingdom // 6D // 4H // 19M

Onno Zuidema, Netherlands // 6D // 8H // 52M

Dean Strike, Australia // 6D // 11H // 48M

Erik Venneman, Netherlands // 6D // 16H // 5M

Rutger van Valderen, Netherlands // 6D // 16H // 30M // incl. 4H Penalty

William Luke Windsor, United Kingdom // 7D // 4H // 55M

Marc Wismans, Netherlands // 7D // 8H // 55M

Ralph Cullen, Netherlands // finish

Thijs Verbrugghe, Netherlands // dsq (fully self supported) // finish

Mathias Reygaerts, Belgium // dnf

Eric Kampherbeek, Netherlands // dnf

Lamri Adjis, Netherlands // dnf

Julia Freeman, United Kingdom // dnf

Olaf Rittgeroth, Germany // dnf

Eelco Weijmans, Netherlands // dnf

Jan-Willem Bobbink, Netherlands // dns

Christopher Greenan, Scotland // dns


Giorsio Raboen, Netherlands // 5D // 16H // 50M

Alain Raboen, Netherlands // 5D // 16H // 50M

Dennis Kim, South Korea // dnf

Hana Kim, South Korea // dnf

Leon Lagerwerf, Netherlands // dnf

Bart Meerwijk, Netherlands // dnf